Reviews

Lovely B and B - Rating 5/5

We stayed here as it is in a central location for walking in the Dales. Our room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable.Good choice of food for breakfast, and Sue, the owner was friendly and helpful.It is a 10 minute walk into the town where there is a reasonable choice of places to eat, and is within a 10,15 minute drive to other nearby small towns.There are numerous places to visit and for walking nearby so it is ideally situated for going round th beautiful Derbyshire Dales.

Response

Thanks Lei11

Reviewer:L | Thu 15th Feb 2018 | 6 months ago


Lovely location - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Barton House overnight on a working weekend. The owners couldn't have been more accommodating even getting up early on a Sunday morning to accommodate an early breakfast. The room was a really large double, that could easily have been a king size. The en suite bathroom was lovely with a selection of toiletries. Sky tv and a great wifi connection. The view from the bedroom window was across the Peak District. Breakfast was lovely with s large selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt and juices. Followed by a full cooked English breakfast. Will definitely stay again.

Response

Thanks Tuttifrutti

Reviewer:T | Thu 23rd Nov 2017 | 8 months ago


Fantastic B&B - Rating 5/5

What a find! This Fantastic B & B proprietor could not do more for you,nothing too much trouble. Excellent breakfast, and house so clean. Will definitely be coming back. Should be so much more than 3*

Response

Many thanks for your feedback Mrs Salmon. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and very pleased to meet you. Sue

Reviewer:Sharon S | Thu 1st Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely Easter break - Rating 5/5

Stayed Easter weekend with some friends , fantastic breakfast , rooms very clean and it was a nice 10 minute walk into town for the pubs all in all fantastic the host Sue is lovely and makes you feel right at home.

Response

Many thanks for your review. It was a pleasure to host you and really pleased your enjoyed your stay with us. Sue

Reviewer:m | Mon 17th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

A nice friendly B&B. Breakfast was fine though after five days we did find the choice rather limited and the selection of cereals poor. Fresh fruit was spot on.The room was clean, large and the bed outstandingly comfortable. Large bathroom, excellent shower and well filled with toiletries. Ventilation to the bedroom was not an option as the A6 road outside carried a huge amount of traffic day and night. For a light sleeper this room is a non starter. For us it did not matter as the weather was not hot. If we were to return to Matlock we would certainly want to stay with Sue but only if her rear bedroom was available.

Response

Thanks for the feedback and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We checked the double glazing and noticed that the upper window was not closed. That is our error so sorry for that. The A6 road is convenient for Matlock to Chatsworth and Bakewell and we are well set back from the road so traffic noise should not be an issue. We will monitor and check with other guests and thanks again for the feedback. We will also up our game on the cereal front :-)

Reviewer:J | Sun 21st Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Extra Information

  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi

General Booking Policy

We look forward to welcoming you. When you make your booking you are entering into an agreement with us. Please read our terms and conditions of booking below.

Arrival and Departure

Check in is available from 2.00pm to 8.00pm (14:00 to 20:00) on the day of arrival. Check-in times outside of those specified must be confirmed with us prior to arrival.

We ask that you please vacate your room by 11.00am on the morning of departure.

Reservations

Please note the cancellation policy before committing to a reservation.

In order for us to confirm a reservation, credit/debit card details are required to secure your booking. No payment is taken from this card unless you ask us to, or the booking is cancelled within 7 days of the scheduled date of arrival, or you do not show, or you use the card to pay on departure. However, we reserve the right to pre-authorise the card with a charge equivalent to the room(s) single night rate.

The exception to this policy is for bookings at peak times and / or special events where we reserve the right to take a deposit payment equivalent to the room(s) single night rate. You will be informed of this at the time of booking.

If you are unable to secure the booking with a credit/debit card then we require payment by BACS for the full amount of the stay. We will then send confirmation once the money has cleared.

Bookings made online may be subject to differing terms and conditions in force at the time of booking. This is to protect your security in carrying out the booking and providing credit card details over the internet.

Cancellation by the Guest

We are a small business, so cancellations can have a big impact on us, especially if we have turned away potential guests in favour of someone who has already booked and who then cancels. We do, however, appreciate that unforeseen circumstances can intervene, and we try to be as sympathetic and helpful as possible in such cases.

In the event of a cancellation up to 7 days prior to the scheduled date of arrival no charge will be made.

If you cancel your reservation within 7 days of the scheduled date of arrival a cancellation charge equivalent to the room(s) single night rate will be made.

Guests failing to arrive, without notification, may be responsible to a charge equivalent to the total reservation price.

We take all Bookings in good faith, as we are unable to judge reasons for change, cancellation or non-arrival, guests are reminded that no exceptions to the above conditions will be made and that any booking made with Barton House for either accommodation or goods, services, meals or drinks that are pre booked (verbal or written) forms a legally binding contract. For this reason we advise that you take out a suitable insurance product to cover against unexpected costs such as cancellation fees. In addition, we may take legal action, through the Courts, to recover any outstanding debts.

Cancellation by Us

Should it become necessary for us to cancel a booking we will contact you immediately. Any payments made will be refunded in full. Should you wish to, we will attempt to book you into another local bed and breakfast of the same or lower Visit Britain grading in a similar standard of room(s). Should this establishment be more expensive than Barton House, we will pay the difference for the first night of your stay. Our liability will not extend beyond these conditions.

Car Parking

A car park is available for guests’ use at the front of the premises. Cars parked here are at owners risk, there are however security cameras installed for your piece on mind.

Change of Room

If a booking is taken out for a specific room and the room reserved is required to meet a specific guest needs or rendered unusable via circumstances beyond our control, we reserve the right to transfer the booking to an alternative room of similar quality.

Damage and Breakages

Please take care of our home. You are responsible and liable for any breakages or damages which you cause to the accommodation or its contents. Please report these as soon as they occur especially if you accidentally spill something – it’s much easier to clean if we know what it is and act quickly. We do not normally charge for breakages, but we reserve the right to charge for repair or making good if the damage is significant.

Data

Some of the data gathered during the course of a booking may be held on computer. We would like to hold this data after your visit to be able to inform you of future offers. If you would prefer us not to hold this information please let us know.

Keys

You have access to the building and your room 24 hours a day throughout your stay using a set of keys given to you when you register on arrival. You have full responsibility of these keys for the duration of your stay. Lost keys will be charged at £10.00 per set.

Liability

We do not accept any liability for any damage, loss or injury to any member of your party or any vehicles or possessions, unless proven to be caused by a negligent act by ourselves or our employees whilst acting in the course of their employment.

Lost Property

We are happy to return items that have been left following departure. However, there will be a minimum charge of £5.00 to cover postage and packaging.

Missing Items

We reserve the right to charge for missing items.

Payment

Payment is due on the morning of departure and we accept the following charge, credit and debit cards;American Express, Debit MasterCard, Delta, Electron, JCB, Maestro, MasterCard, PIN Train, UK Maestro and Visa, as well as personal and business cheques and cash.

Pets

Pets are not permitted at Barton House

Prices

We reserve the right to change our prices at any time. This does not affect bookings already made.

Smoking

Smoking is NOT permitted within any part of Barton House. Smoking is permitted outside of the home. Please note that offending guests may be asked to leave immediately and may be liable for professional cleaning of any rooms and any outstanding balance of nights booked but not taken through early departure.

Termination Policy

Barton House reserve the right, at its discretion, to terminate, without notice, an individuals stay where deemed necessary through unacceptable behaviour or as a result of actions which are likely to endanger or offend others (Please note that non compliance of our non smoking policy may constitute termination). In such circumstances any outstanding account must be settled, no refunds will be made.

Wi-Fi Access

By using our Wi-Fi Service you automatically agree to the terms and conditions of use in force at the time.

We reserve the right to amend these terms and conditions at any time.

You acknowledge and agree that all intellectual property rights (including, but not limited to, copyrights (including rights in software), trademarks, database rights, patents and inventions) in and relating to the service are owned by us and our licensors or contractors. Nothing in this agreement operates to transfer any such intellectual property rights to you.

We reserve the right to assign or sub-contract any of our rights and obligations under this agreement without notice to you.

If any provision of this agreement is found to be unenforceable by a court of competent jurisdiction, the other provisions shall nevertheless remain in full force and effect.

This agreement is governed by the laws of England and the parties hereto submit to the non-exclusive jurisdiction of the English courts.